ALA Emerging Leader Application – My Advice

I was asked by someone considering applying for the ALA Emerging Leader program what my advice was for the application and personal statement.  I’m also on the EL Sub-committee (though I don’t do anything related to applications, reviews, etc.), so I didn’t get in to a lot of detail with my advice.  However, I still think what I said holds true and while it might seem obvious to some, focuses on things folks in our profession sometimes forget about:

  • Explain what made you want to become a librarian in the first place
  • Describe your short and long term goals
  • Be honest and don’t be afraid to show why you love being a librarian/library professional
  • Tell about your past successes – don’t be modest
  • If you see an unfulfilled need within ALA or within the profession, describe how you’d attempt to fill that gap

So, now you know!  Stay cool folks!

Leave a Reply

