The economy and teen services, plus, Chicago food…yum

First off, I’m working on an article for YALS about teen services and the economy.  If you’re a teen or tween services librarian and would like to put YOUR two cents in, please leave a comment!  How has the economy been affecting your library services?  Are more teens coming in?  What are they coming in for?  Media?  Books?  To use the computers? To ask for work or chances to volunteer?

Now in other notes, it’s pretty clear that I haven’t blogged recently.  Let me tell you a little something – going to conference is a tough thing if you’re a librarian.  But if you’re a librarian who works as a vendor – wow – there’s a lot to do.  Massive amounts of documents, displays, prizes, and other materials have to be arranged, shipped, printed, received, noted, counted…well, you get the idea.  When I was a librarian I used to walk past the vendor thinking they had it so easy, they just had to stand there!  Oh what a haughty fool I was!

So what am I going to do in Chicago to give myself a pat on the back for all of my hard preparation?  Why eat, of course!  Here are my recommendations in Chicago –

  • Rosebud on Rush – great Italian food – white table clothes, great wait staff – go in nice clothes, but I’ve seen folks there in jeans.
  • The restaurant at the Palmer House – I have no idea what it’s called.  And I’m too lazy to look it up right now.  Bu they have lemon breakfast pancakes that are to die for.  When I was 12 my grandfather took me there and I wasted an entire order of pancakes because I insisted I wasn’t hungry.  Looking back, I am appalled at my 12 year old self for passing up the lemony, powder sugary goodness of those fantastic pancakes.  I’ve made up for it during every visit to Chi-town since.
  • A coney island.  Any coney island.  I want a chili dog with onions and mustard and a side of fries.
  • Beer and brats at Wrigley Field.  I don’t know if I’ll have time to catch a game, but something about that combo is ever better at a ball game.

Well, happy eating and conferencing.

Leave a Reply

