Library Day at Comerica Park

Go Tigers!

Go Tigers!

It’s summer time! You finally have Sundays off while school is out and wouldn’t it be fun to catch a ball game PLUS see all your library friends? Well, you can!

Announcing Library Day at Comerica Park on Sunday, August 9 at 1:05 PM as the Tigers take on the Minnesota Twins!

You’re going to need a special order form, which you can pick up here:
http://drop.io/libraryday#

Tickets are $12 and children ages 3 and under are FREE!
(Assumes the child will be in your lap – if you’d like to have a seat for them, then you will have to buy a ticket. )

Deadline for the order form is July 10!

Here are some FAQs:

Who are you and why are you setting this up?
My name is Christine Ayar.  I’m a Wayne State Grad, I was formerly a clerk and substitute librarian at Salem-South Lyon and was Library Director at the Adam Cardinal Maida Library.  Now I work for Evanced Solutions in Indianapolis.

I love baseball and I think librarians need to get together in public places to demonstrate to people that a) we exist and b) librarians don’t just sit around and read all day.  Plus, it’s just plain fun.

Is this in conjunction with any association or company or specific library?
No, it’s not.  It’s just me.  I set it up, contacted the Tigers, got the order form ready, etc.

Who can attend?
Anyone.  I called it “Library Day” because I didn’t want to limit it to just librarians.  Bring your librarians, your clerks, your pages, their families, their neighbors, your library board, their cousins – whomever.

What should I expect at this game?
Well, baseball, mostly.  The Tigers told me that if we get enough attendees, they will put us on the big screen and do an announcement for us about how folks should visit their local library.  I was also thinking of setting us up with some fun signs – like, the Dewey number for Baseball or something silly and fun. 

Where are the seats?
Seats will in the Upper Reserved area Sections 338-344.

How do I access the order form?
Visit the drop.io link above.  You will want to download the form from there.   Sorry if it looks funky – the Internet was not kind to my creation!

Is my money going to be safe?
Your money and associated communications go right to the Tigers.  There isn’t any mark up and the ticket rep there will hold all of the information to get your tickets to you.

When will I get my tickets?
You will receive your tickets via U.S. Postal Service within three weeks of your order.

How can I contact you if I have more questions?
You can email me at chrisayar at yahoo dot com

What are the directions to the ball park?
Here’s all of the information you might need: http://detroit.tigers.mlb.com

What if I miss the order deadline?
You can order through the Tigers after the Library Day deadline, but there is no guarantee you will be sitting with other library people.

Can’t I just call the box office?
You can, however, there is no guarantee you will be seated with the other library-type folks and doing so will limit our chances of getting the announcement.  And that would make every one sad!  You don’t want to make everyone sad, do you?!?!

5 responses to “Library Day at Comerica Park

  1. Marcus Richter

    Can we bring a book? ha ha ha
    (sorry I had to bring this up when I read “librarians don’t just sit around and read all day”)
    Marcus

  2. LOL, no, that was funny! Well, okay, you can. But it has to be a baseball book. Bring “The Natural” or something! ;)

  3. This sounds great! Any idea of where this section will be for us?

  4. Chris–I can’t get the form to print more than the logo. I’d want to get 2 tix; can you advise, please?

    Thanks!

    Deb

Leave a Reply

