Books and Bumper Stickers

I’m one of those people who tries to manipulate the holiday season and the spirit of giving to be about me. I’ll admit it. I mean, I love giving things to people for the holiday, but more importantly, I love giving ME something. Because who better than ME to pick out just the right thing for ME?

I’m being tongue-in-cheek (not really), of course. But I was getting on a plane recently and saw a woman reading a book and I was envious all of a sudden. And for the nerdiest of reasons…she was reading a book and I have only read the web and magazines for the past three or four months. Yes, I could go the library, but darn it, I want to buy myself a book! Boy do I ever feel like a rebel. (Cue the Dukes of Hazard theme…) I think it will be something by Malcolm Gladwell – Outliers or Blink perhaps.

A little hint: When I walk through the library or bookstore and see books that I might like to read, I use my cell phone to take a picture of the cover. That way I don’t have to worry about losing a scrap of paper and I have the author and title right there.

Another side bar…I have this idea in my mind for some sort of magentic bumper sticker library campaign. Something where library patrons are encouraged to put a library magnet on their car for a month or something to that effect to help promote the library. Hmmm, it’s right there in my mind. All the bits are there for an idea but it’s not coming together. Ideas? Anyone? Perhaps if I drink more coffee this morning…

2 responses to “Books and Bumper Stickers

  1. Malcolm Gladwell is a GENIUS. Kinda like you and me, except he’s not a librarian. We can still be friends.

  2. There’s that other book too… Diffusion of Innovations by Everett Rogers. I think it’s in it’s fifth edition now. Used to be a professor at MSU as well. Totally irrelevant but interesting fact. 🙂

Leave a Reply

