MLA @ MLB

I went to the Tigers vs. Kansas City Royals game on Saturday.  Two of the worst teams in the AL duke it out, and the Tigers lose 3-13 or something along those lines.  (I think I have forgotten most of the game in an attempt to maintain mental self-preservation).

Dear Royals:  Thank you for the master class in double plays.  I learned a lot but I have a funny feeling that the Tigers did not.

Dear Tigers: Nice try.  You’re still my team.  Please pull yourselves together.  There is no comfort to be found in the pitching department.  Don’t make me start yelling things at games.

BUT I DIGRESS: What the hell does it take to get a block of seats for the MLA at a Tigers game????  It’s a simple phone call, is it not? Next season people, we will be at a game.  And don’t you worry – I’m gonna get us on the big sign.  And we’re drinkin’ beer, and we’re eatin’ hot dogs, and if you have kids, bring them cuz we’re ALL going on the big baseball ferris wheel.  And when ESPN pans the crowd, they will see us, each holding up a giant letter to create this sign:  796.357 BASEBALL.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!  And if we’re feeling really smarty-pants, we’ll throw in that whole @ YOUR LIBRARY thing.

In the meantime, do the whole ALA Step Up to the Plate @ your library contest.

2 responses to “MLA @ MLB

  1. I just want to know what the hell it takes to see a decent Tiger’s game this year. Went to three – two were rained out and the last one just sucked because they lost.

    Oh, and let me know about next season. I’ll bring all three of my kids and we’ll help you hold up your sign.

  2. Mmmm, librarians at CoPa…already sounds fun. Well, that is unless next year’s season is a similar abortion to this season. Of course, there’s always beer to fix that problem. Plus, I wouldn’t mind going back to the days of old where you could go to the park day of and still score cheap seats, then move up cause no one bought the others.

Leave a Reply

