Dear Yahoo!

Dear Yahoo!

I’ve always been quite fond of you. The quirky exclaimation point behind your name. The fact that, while you are a tech behemoth, you aren’t quite as lawsuit happy as some of the other mother f*ckers out there. (Okay, that’s a stretch, but still.) The way my email account has been in your loving care for over twelve years. All good things.

But lately, you’ve been making some bad choices. And I’m concerned. While this diagram is very snappy, it does indicate that you’re getting rid of Delicious. Or “sunsetting” it. That’s a nice way of saying it’s getting the axe. You’re reasoning is that it wasn’t performing. Well, you acquired it in 2005, right? And it’s well known that you didn’t do a whole heck of a lot to bolster it after that. Oh sure, you did change some things…a few features here, a couple of changes there. I liked those changes, they were great. But if you wanted a huge payback, then maybe you should have tried a bit harder. And from my grubby little office, I am observing public outcry that really isn’t bringing you any fans. This isn’t good.

Listen, I get that you have choices you have to make. You’re a big company. There’s a lot of pressure. Stockholders are a$$holes. There’s big money to be made. And the competition isn’t getting any less fierce. But before you make your next product decision, I beg you, as a friend…think about it. People are already getting very worried that you’re not going to have much love for Flickr either.

I understand if you don’t want to talk to me for a while. But I had to tell you that. All I ask is that you give me some time to figure out my options for migrating to a different service.

Fondly,
C

2 responses to “Dear Yahoo!

  1. Sunsetting – now there’s a clever euphemism. There are a lot of things that I would love to “sunset” but Delicious isn’t one of them. How did this all work out anyhow?

  2. Well, I heard that they fired most of the Delicious team, however, the site is still active. So, we’ll see. I’m still using Delicious and plan to panic appropriately when they make the actual, formal announcement.

Leave a Reply

