Amelia Earhart needs a READ poster

My family came to visit me recently.  For those of you who have been so uncool as to not read my blog recently, I moved from Michigan to Kansas.  It was nice to have them come and see my new town and such.

We went to Atchison, KS – the childhood home of Amelia Earhart.  She was a pretty incredible woman.  As a child I always admired her and was completely fascinated with the idea that she had just disappeared into the air…or so it seems.  I often wonder if she lived the last years (or months or days) of her life on a stranded island, shoes in her hand, sleeves rolled up, walking along beaches scanning the sky for planes to save her and her navigator.  It’s a sad thought, really.

But in addition to being an aviatrix (not kidding, that’s the real term they use) she also made incredible guesses about the future of travel that were highly accurate, especially about plane flights and ground transportation.  And as a child, she was a voracious reader.

amelia-quote-one1

“Like many horrid children, I loved school, though I never qualified as teacher’s pet.  Perhaps the fact that I was exceedingly fond of reading made me endurable.” – she is quoted on a placard at the Atchison County Historical Society Museum.

And in another placard, are her views on reading, yet again…

amelia-quote-two

“Books have meant much to me.  Not only did I myself read considerably, but Mother read aloud to my sister and me, early and late.  So fundamental became that habit that on occasions when we girls had to do housework, instead of both pitching in and doing it, one was selected to read aloud and the other to work.”

And to wrap it up, we went to her childhood home…a tidy two-story in a historic and both formally and currently wealthy neighborhood overlooking the Missouri River.

amelia-earhart-home

It was a cool trip and makes me think that maybe ALA needs to do a series of cool vintage type READ posters.  Amelia would be proud to do it…even if it was posthumous.

One more random fact I learned on that trip…do you know that there was guy who served as President of the United States for only ONE DAY???   Weird political fluke…his name was David Rice Atchison (do you see the connection?) and you can read the story here.

4 responses to “Amelia Earhart needs a READ poster

  1. I love the READ posters. I’m usually surprised at who is pictured but maybe that’s the point.

    so who do we have to talk to to get a I-want-an-Amelia-poster champaign going?

    • Hm, I don’t know! Maybe we need to talk to someone at the ALA store or marketing? I’ll do a bit of research and let you know!

  2. Hey what state did Amelia Earhart grow up in so my family and I can go camping in that state and visit Amelia’s childhood home.

Leave a Reply

