Daily Archives: December 19, 2008

Creative Way To Get Magazine Subscriptions For Your Library

I don’t know about you, but I am getting a ton of those cards in the mail for magazines I subscribe to:
Renew your subscription and get another gift subscription for a friend FREE!!! (Domino)
Buy one subscription full price, another at half price, and the third subscription FREE! (Real Simple)
Buy TWO for the price of ONE! (ESPN The Magazine)
I’m sure your patrons are getting these cards too!  Perhaps a campaign is in order: “Give your gift subscription to the library!”  Heck…I love Domino, but I don’t have a friend who would really want the free subscription.  I’m going to ask my area library if they want me to send the free one their way.
Why not?  We ask folks for donations all the time…might as well ask for something they are likely to sign up for and get for free anyways.  Helps you with your subscriptions, helps them score a discount on magazines.  You can’t beat that!