Daily Archives: September 18, 2008

Age……..Gap

Apparently every single member of the freshman class did not do his summer reading and now needs a copy of The Lord of the Flies.  And refuses to go to the bookstore because the markup is prohibitive.

So, after checking out all three copies that I had, I only had the book on tape remaining.  One of the kids said he’d take it and when he opened the case balked and said “um, a tape?  Where can I play this?”  And I said – your parents’ car?  “No”  A stereo at home?  “No”

And then I almost said………wait for it……….

“Don’t you have a walk-man?”

I always thought I was so tech-savvy – I covet the iPhone, and I would love to buy a Chumby.  So the thought that there are homes in this country that lack cassette players, not due to lack of funds but because of immense change in technology, really struck me.

I’m still reeling.  (Unintentional pun but damn good, don’t you think?)

Change stinks.

In my personal life, I’m not good with change*.  I’m terrible at it.  When major change occurs in my life, I need at least two days to be grumpy, miserable, and down-right pathetic.  Then I get a second wind and drive on. That is for big change.  Little changes I’m better at.

So, I’m thinking about changing the design of my blog.  To…are you ready…a TWO column format.  And maybe a custom header.  I just want you all to know in case you are as change adverse as I am.  I think I’ll handle it well, but last week I did the annual “switching of the yearly planners” and spent a good ten minutes fretting about it.

Be prepared.  It could happen.  And if it doesn’t, well you were warned…I don’t like change.

*In my professional life, I love change.  Oooo!  A new process/gadget/system/bathroom soap dispenser/boss/employee/filing system/bundt cake recipe…